Rules for deleting data

You may know that you can set up various policies for how data deletion in agileBase works:

https://agilechilli.com/help-centre/agilebase/managing-deletion-policies/

The default and most restrictive (safest!) is that if there are any records linked to the one you’re deleting, you won’t be able to remove it until you’ve manually removed or disassociated all of the linked ones too.

That’s great for protecting important data but can make things tricky when just testing things out as a new user, demonstrating to colleagues etc., particularly when automated workflows are involved. If when you create an organisation record in a CRM system, a default site and a couple of other related bits of information are added automatically, deleting a temporary record can be quite a chore. How can we address that?

One idea we’ve introduced recently is to allow a ‘grace period’ of an hour before the more stringent deletion policies come into effect. In other words, if you create a new record, you can delete it and all it’s dependencies with one click within sixty minutes of the creation time. Only after that do the restrictions come into force.

That’s useful for users and important to know for administrators. If as an administrator you have any questions or you’d like to customise this, please get in touch with us.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s