Today we are releasing the first ‘alpha’ version of object tagging for developers (that means it’s an early release which may not work as well as it will later on down the line, but early adopters can try the feature out).
What is object tagging? Well, it means you can attach short text tags to objects, currently fields and tables, but later other things such as views and even users or roles.
Tags can serve many purposes. One popular use is ‘red tagging’, used to mark items which need reviewing. It may be for example you want to delete a field but are unsure if anyone in the organisation still uses it. You can tag it, then you or someone else can check it out later.
It’s possible to add multiple tags to each object, so continuing that example, a junior developer could mark a field as ‘to delete’, then a manager could add a ‘verified’ tag to mean the deletion can go ahead.
Another use could be for grouping together all tables and fields used for a particular project. For example, if you’re working on a stock control project, you may like to tag tables ‘stock items’, ‘stock changes’ and ‘suppliers’, so you can then find and access them easily as you work.
Tags can be added from the editing panels for tables and fields. They can be seen when developer mode is toggled on, whenever a table or field is visible on the screen, whether that’s on the developer homepage, when looking at a record from a table or a view.
Finally, on the developer homepage, you can see all tables marked with a certain tag, by selecting that tag from the dropdown at the top centre of the screen. Any table with that tag will be shown, but also any table that has a field in it with that tag. In the connections diagram, tables linked to the tagged table are also shown, so you can explore outwards from the tagged tables.
Inline editing improvements
The inline editing feature we rolled out by default a couple of weeks ago has gained some usability improvements – column widths will now auto-size to the content in them, so there’s less wasted screen space and you can see more columns at once.
Simultaneous login change
As we mentioned back in December, simultaneous logins on different devices by the same username will now be disallowed. Logging on in one place will automatically log out any sessions a user has in another.
Exceptions are for administrators (admins often find it helpful to have more than one session open in different browsers) and for people using multiple tabs in the same browser (e.g. using incognito mode in the browser).
Remember, if you’re wanting to allow access to suppliers, partners, the public or anyone else outside your organisation, you can look at our community users feature for cost effective access.
Allowable data volume increase
We’ve recently increased the number of records that can be created in any one table, from just over two billion, to a bit under ten million trillion, or in scientific notation 10 ^ 19 (one followed by nineteen zeros).
Now whereas there’s absolutely no possibility of anyone storing that number of records any time soon, as data volumes increase there is a distinct possibility of people wanting to create more than two billion at some point. Note that this limit is the number of rows that can be created in a table, not necessarily the number that you want to store at any one time. So even if old rows are deleted, the count keeps going up.
This change takes effect for new tables created from now on. Old tables will keep the two billion limit for now, but the system will email a warning message to administrators when one billion rows is reached. If that happens we will manually upgrade the table for you.
This change also increases the number that can be calculated or stored in a whole number field, from the two billion limit to the same 10 ^ 19.